Home » About » History


The American Association of Electronic Reporters and Transcribers provides education and certification for professionals engaged in digital reporting, transcribing, and associated roles. AAERT offers networking opportunities for its members and promotes public awareness about the value of digital reporting.

The founding concepts for AAERT began with Connie Rill (California), who in 1993 invited two associates, Steve Townsend (Arizona) and Janet Harris (Wisconsin), to explore forming an organization to represent the electronic court reporting and transcribing industry.

Their efforts came to fruition in March 1994 when about 75 interested private-sector practitioners met in Las Vegas to formally inaugurate AAERT.

Our original Board of Directors included these charter members, representing seven states:

  • Connie S. Rill (California), President
  • Sunny Peer (Texas), Vice-President
  • Janet B. Harris (Wisconsin), Secretary
  • William E. Wagner (Washington), Treasurer
  • James V. Bowen (New Jersey)
  • Gloria Kron (Alaska)
  • Steve Townsend (Arizona)
Skip to content